a 16 year old mother and a 3 year old boy, p. 72-73

I flipped to pages 72 and 73 and I thought I was looking at a sister and a brother.  To my surprise, she is the mother to that little boy.  How old is she?  Probably 16 year old, and that little boy looks like 3 year old.  No name is recorded here.  A mother and a child are sitting in her grandmother’s one-room dwelling.  There is a TV, a woven mattress on the dirty floor on which they sit, with a side board housing only a Nestle coffeemate but nothing else, a comb pinning onto the wall, a string hanging across this bare wall, a electric fan sitting on a patio chair.  The boy is mindlessly staring at the TV, drinking some kind of tea-colour beverage from a milk bottle. 

(How old is the mother?  How old when she got pregnant?  How old when she gave birth to her child?)

Father God, we come before you, lifting up this girl and her little boy into Your hands.  Whatever her name is, her story of past, of present and of future, you know them all.  I ask your gospel reaching into her ear, to Phnom Penh, to the White Building, to this literal garbage dump.  The condition they are in is an unbearable scene.  Used condoms are littered everywhere.  Heaps and heaps of them are forcing their ways to my eyes.  I can literally smell the stench of semen steaming off from the page. 

Heaps and heaps of them .. heaps and heaps of them …

The despair on her face does not give much evidence that she enjoys being a 16 year old girl like one in North America does.  I reckon the trauma she had faced when she found out she was pregnant must have been drastic.  Instead of being a 16 year old, she sits there purposelessly taking care of her own child who is still in toddler age.

Father God, when you bring us here to pray for your children, teach us the words to utter because I don’t have words on my lips but tears on my cheeks.  Tears are not enough, tears are not what you command from us, but what do you want us to do?  Teach us what more can we do to intercede for them, please!

I chose to read Your Words instead.  I flipped to Revelation:

“Blessed is the one who reads aloud the words of this prophesy, and blessed are thsoe who hear it, and take to heart what is written in it, because the time is near.” – Revelation 1:3

“To him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by His blood, and has made us to be a kingdom and priests to serve His God and Father – to him be glory and power forever and ever.  Amen.”  – Revelation 1:5-6

I am encouraged by His promises that He has freed us from our sins by His blood and has made us to be a kingdom and priests.  The calling is here.  The tasks are clear.  The invitation of asking me to take heart of His words is received and now on its way to sprawl into my deepest cell, to take root and to grow into a motion of action. 

By claiming these promises, facing this 16 year old child-mother and this 3 year old baby boy, I have faith in my Father God.  God knows, God sees, God weeps, God cares, God LOVES.  He sends me His promises that He is the Alpha, the Omega, who is, who was and who is to come. 

I will fear no evil for my God is with me, whom then shall I fear? 

Father God, I pray that they will come to know You, hang onto Your promises too and find light and truth in You. 

In Your name. I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

