… 9,000 times …

 
“9,000 times” – a number of repetition gives me chill on the spine.  A total number of abuses a trafficked victim had suffered when 9,000 times ago, it had got it all started. 
 
I was sitting in Lisa’s living room, listening quietly among the 10 others, taking in the latest statistics, looping my pen with the figure 9,000 on my paper.  Not even a sound was made in the room.  I wonder what were the others thinking?  My eyes were welling up but I held back.  I looked down to the carpeted floor, but I didn’t see the carpet nor my own feet, I saw a face of a girl sinking up and down before my eyes.  I felt the pain inside of me that I wanetd to scream, but I again held it back.  I composed myself, I swallowed the tears who were swimming its tireless way to my tear ducts. 
 
Father God, I am coming before you today, remember this number – 9,000, again with no words.  What am I going to pray about and to write about?   
 
Your words in 2 Chronicles 20 reminds me again the battle is not ours, it’s Yours. 
 
My mind takes me to another scenary of a stand alone pink room in which thousands and thousands of abuses are performed and played out in every form of acts, in every frequency of sounds, in every pitch of cries.  The spiritual battle is raging wars in here.  I determine to push through curtains and curtains of these images to enter into this very pink room.  I am now standing here, hearing the old blood and cries bouncing off the wall and landing on my face.  Father God, I need you to offer me Your promises and Your plan why this room is now speaking to me so audibly and pressing against my chest so physically. 
 
Again Your words is my feast when I am starved in my own words to offer up prayers.  Yours words in Romans 8:26-39 sets my mind on Your foundation of promises that nothing can separate us from your love, that I have Jesus to intercede for us, that nothing can separate us from the love of Jesus Christ?  Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?  For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present not the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. 
 
In Your name.  I pray.  Amen.
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

