… grow weary and lose heart, not …

I speak.  I speak to anyone who asks.  One asks me how all these have anything to do with me.  Ask me what so urgently evil is now happening in Cambodia.  I speak with that urgency shown.

I speak.  I speak to anyone who wants to know.  One wants to know about the plight of smal children.  One wants to know why carrying this boulder-weight burden with me when the focus of this trip is my family.  I speak with that boulder-weight burden in my voice, even to my family, extended family, family in  Christ.

Today, in a few hours, I will be hauling the brochures and newsletters, books, laptop and my Bible to meet with someone who asks and who wants to know.  I can speak to anyone, not because this is my newly acquired project (though they keep terming this as such).  It’s because I have a responsiblity to talk to anyone whom I cross path with.  It’s because God invites me.  It’s because God keeps fanning the fire and the flame.  It’s because God puts words on my lips.  It’s becasue God holds my future and tells me that is what He wants me to do for as long as I live.  It’s because the CHILDREN do not get heard and get noticed.  It’s because there are more slaves in the world today than were extracted from Africa during 400 years of the transatlantic slave trade.

I keep giving reasons to all of the above “it’s because”.  Yet every now and then, I would ask this question, “But it doesn’t make any sense. Who am I really  How much I can do when the issue is that humongous?”  I knelt and prayed.  God reminded me with all the promises He once made with all the forefathers.  That yes he doesn’t always make a lot of sense in our human minds.  God asked Noah to build a big boat in the desert where it never rained.  It didn’t make any sense that the Israelites walked around Jericho for 7 days singing “kum bah yah” while everone on the walls laughed at them. It didnt’ make any sense for Moses to charge toward the Red Sea with Pharaoh’s attacking army bearing down on them. It didn’t make any sense to leave Ur for Cannan when you are already a pretty wealthy guy like Abram was.  It didn’t make any sense to be killing Isaac before he could grow up and have kids himself so that Abraham could be the father of a nation, with descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and as countless as the sand on the seashore.  All these looked very foolish, but only because I view my God with foolishness when viewed from my pea-size limited perspective.

With all of the above “it didn’t make any sense”, God brings me back to the “Faith Hall of Fame” in Hebrews 11. 

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see … without faith is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek Him.  By faith, Noah condemned the world and became heir of righteouness that is in keeping with faith.  All these people were still living by faith when they died.  They did not receive the things promises, they only awa them and welcomed them from a distance, admitting that they were foreigners and strangers on earth … Instead, they were longing for a better country – a heavenly one.  Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them.”

Lately, Hebrews 12:1-3 rings loud in my mind,

” 1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3 Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.”

One response to “… grow weary and lose heart, not …

  1. All glory and praise to God our Father. In tonight’s bible story to Ty this is what I read…

    “At the end of the rule of King Uzziah, God spoke to the people through the prophet Isaiah. Isaiah was in teh Temple when he had a vision of God and knew that God was calling him to serve him. Isaiah wrote down what he saw.

    “God sat upon his throne, high above everyone else, and his long robe filled the Temple. Around him were heavenly creastures, each of which had six wings. With two wings they covered their faces. With two wings they covered their feed. And with two wings they flew. “They called out to each other saying, ‘Holy, holy, holy! The Lord God is full of power and glory!’ “The Temple shook from top to bottom at the sound of their voices, and it filled with smoke.

    “I felt so sinful, so unworthy, to be in God’s holy presence. I knew that all my people and I are so far from the holiness of the God we claim to know and worship.

    “Then one of the heavenly creastures flew down to me carrying a burning coal from the altar. He touched my lips with it and said, ‘Your guilt is gone; your sins are forgiven.’

    “Then I heard the voice of God: ‘Whom shall I send?’ he asked. ‘Who will take my words to the people?’

    “I answered, ‘I will go! Send me!'”

Leave a Reply

