… stitches and stitches …

Paul greeted me with his smile after reading my yesterday’s post, “It’s a happy post!”  I didn’t realize that my rest in Him would flow drops of peacefulness through only 2 small paragraphs. 
 
A buzzing email about our order with the Sewing Room from Daughters Cambodia last night sent me onto a sailing trip.  How I long to receive the linens from the Sewing Room in the mail.  How I long to open the box from which stitches and stitches of tea towels, table runners, coasters and cushions would fall.  For:   
  •  Stitches and stitches of their tangibilities of walking away from purple bruises and fist-flinging will be landed on my hands. 
  • Stitches and stitches of yarn and thread flew under the sewing machines are their voices which often go unheard. 
  • Stitches and stitches represent stitches and stitches of their wounds being mended, of their bruises being healed, of their shackles being unlocked, of their necks being uncuffed, of their dignities being restored, of their confidence being uplifted, of their preciousness being revealed. 
  • Stitches and stitches remind me stitches and stitches of the love of Jesus Christ that once mend my wounds, heal my bruises, unlock my shackles, uncuff my neck when I once was trapped in my own sin. 
Father God, please go before us in this “yet to be named project” – the logistics, the shipment, the wire of the monies, the message of love we send over to our “two daughters” overthere, the display of their arts birthed through their healing process.  We put all these at Your feet.  All the unknowns will be in Your hands and we have confidence that You will multiply.  I pray that all the above will bring You glory that You deserve, that people are being reminded that You are a God who actively loves justice, that Paul and I are being reminded why You first invited us to enter into such darkenss of confronting evil in the children exploitation. 
Your Words in Psalm 113 speak to me.  Whenever we are called to worship to praise Your name, from the rising of the sun to the place where it sets, your name is to be praised now and forevermore.  I stand in awe and acknowledge who You really are – “The LORD is exalted over all the nations, his glory above the heavens.  Who is like the LORD our God, the One who sits enthroned on high, who stoops down to look on the heavens and the earth?”  Now You display before me Your action – “You raise the poor from the dust, and lift the needy from teh ash heap, You seat them with princes, with the princes of his people.  You settle the childless woman in her home, making her the joyous mother of children.”  My only response is “Praise the Lord.” How can I not praise You for all that You have and will do in Cambodia, in all these young girls’ lives. 
For they who are now offered not only a chance and a choice to walk away from this rape-for-profit industry, but also a chance and a choice to walk towards You, a choice and a chance to be illuminated by Your grace and Your light. Father God, how precious is that to see them striving in You, to witness their growth in You, to unveil to them how precious they are in Your eyes.  Father God, how l long to be a part of their faith journey, to be an eye witness of such marvelous transformation of one life, to make them all the joyous mothers of children!!  
 
In Your name, I pray.  Amen!  
One response to “… stitches and stitches …

  1. Indeed, how can we not praise Him for all the great things He has done and will do? Stitches and stitches in His name we pray!

Leave a Reply

