… what needs to be done comes first …

I am back on track catching up on my Perspectives readings.  This week is the 7th week.  God continues to speak, to stir, to arouse, to push me off the cliff, to examine what He requires me to do to turn these words “to act justly, to love mercy, to walk humbly with our God” into practical form and actions. 

Below is an article written by Ralph Winter whose words convicted me to the core, especially after this past Sunday’s sweet conversation with two of my dearest sisters in Christ. 

“We must start with His concerns.  We must “give our utmost for His highest” as O. Chambers once said.  Our obedience is certainly flawed if focused on what the world approves.  Our obligation is to seek the expansion of the knowledge of the glory of God and His Kingdom, and this would logically require us each to prayerfully seek God about doing the hardest thing we are able to do in the most crucial task we can find. 

1 John 3:8, “The Son of God appeared for this purpose, that He might destroy the works of the Devil.” To follow Jesus is to go to war.  That’s what Christian life is.  In a war what needs to be done comes first.

A true sense of accomplishment is not that you did what you wanted to do, or what you thought you were best at, but what you felt convinced was most crucial, most important

Doing good things is the biblical way to portray God’s character and glory only if we are willing to act without inserting personal conditions.”  

My own contemplation after reading the above is , “Only through partnering with our Father God with such focus and intention, we are able to reveal God’s significant demands, unfailing inspiration and incredible promises that works through our lives and our Christian walk.” 

I am holding onto this promise and this direction to walk my way to find that most crucial and important task that God invited me to take responsible for and to continue to trust in Him when the father of lies attempts to deceive me.  Father God, I need your strength and truth evermore than ever. 

In Your Son’s precious name, I pray.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

