… a year ago …

A year ago, My dad passed away on Nov 1, 2009.  I got the news from one of those dreadful 4am phone call you heard that rings non-stopped until you get up and pick up the phone.

9 days later, I was standing beside my dad’s casket, watching him lying still in it.  I was shattered.  Lilias was inside  me for about 12 weeks already.  I grasped the opportunity to share Isaiah 55 and how the love of Jesus mend my relationship with my dad at the funeral.  People came to say goodbye and listened to the gospel for the very first time.

A week later, after the funeral,  I was sitting in the hotel bathroom, sobbing and sobbing.  A voice came to me, “Cambodia, my child, do you not remember Cambodia??”

4 hours later, my phone rang.  A friend was on the other side of the phone line, “Jessy, do you think you can come to my church and share about Cambodia?”

I lit up and said “YES!! Of course!  When do you want me to come?”

She said, “How about tomorrow morning?”  — that was Nov 17, 2009.

12 hours later, I stood in that room of 70+ people, sharing about child sex slavery in Cambodia for 3 hours long.

3 hours later, people were crying, some were praying and crying, some were confessing out loud at the top of their lungs.  I was crying too, as I answered my God’s invitation, “Father God, I remember Cambodia!  This is Your comfort to me as I mourn for my dad.”

A YEAR LATER, Lilias spent the anniversary date of my dad’s passing with me.  We walked to the nearby park and strolled on the sidewalk, looked at the fallen leaves, felt the wind blowing on our faces.

A voice came to me again, “My child, do you not remember Cambodia? I am going to send you there.”

I have seen the King right there and then, He said, “whom shall I send?  And who will go for us?”  And I said, “Here am I, Send me!”

******

2 months from today, I will be in Cambodia!!

I believe that same voice will come to me again, “My child, do you not remember Cambodia? YOU ARE HERE!”

Isaiah 55:9-11

9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts.
10 As the rain and the snow
come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

3 responses to “… a year ago …

  1. wow, Jessy, what a testament of God’s promises fulfilled in your life as He upholds you in each & every life circumstance! you will be in the centre of God’s will for you while you prepare for going & are in Cambodia. can’t wait to read of more of God’s goodness in your life.

  2. Hey Jessika, thank you for your encouraging testament!
    I am so glad to hear you will be going!! Is it just you?

    Do you want to hear something crazy? Isaiah 55 is the scripture passage that God gave me for Mexico!!

  3. Thank you girls for your words of encouragement!! God is at work everywhere!! Jenny, this is crazy how Isaiah 55 pops up everywhere when one is called in circumstances far above and beyond our human mind can fathom!! God is utterly awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

