… Watch …

Watch your thoughts in Him,
they become His words in you.
Watch your words through His words,
they become actions through His power.
Watch your action through His acts,
they become habits of His desire.
Watch your habits with His desire,
they become character in His grace.
Watch your character in His grace,
for it becomes your calling
to which He invites you …
To answer in Words,
To respond in Action,
To pray in Grace.
– jessy
 Reading these few lines of realization I wrote 2 years ago now brings about a whole new realization.  How true this is when the Lord called me to respond in action.  He meant to require my action dripped with utter obedience despite the cost, despite it is being viewed as foolishness and inconvenience by the world, yet “For the foolishness of God is wiser than human wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than human strength.”
The prayer support that have been given to myself and my family during the past 2.5 years ever since Cambodia was first burdened our hearts; the financial support and prayers that were given to Heather’s 5K walk last October (to not only raised money for Ratanak but to raise her own awareness about the poor and the vulnerable in this world, and how she could play a part to help, and through that a heart of compassion and love be cultivated for the fatherless and the oppressed); my vision trip to Cambodia with Ratanak last January and to all the opportunities that were given to me to share about Cambodia and Ratanak’s work in different churches and groups either here at home and overseas.  To this very day, the Lord has been and still is graciously giving to me new vision carrying what is in His heart and a clear path for me and my family to walk on for the nation of Cambodia and its people.  My heart is constantly grieving and rejoicing for this nation.  I would like to continue to ask for your prayers as the vision that the Lord deposited in my heart didn’t simply end on the day I left Cambodia 5 months ago.  As the Lord indeed called me to serve His people in a whole new different level, specifically through my volunteer role with Ratanak International.

 

It has been an ongoing process of seeking the Lord ever since Paul and I are invited to consider being the Toronto Representative of Ratanak last November when we had a chance to sit down with Brian McConaghy (the founder of Ratanak).  We had such a heart to heart conversation about our journey with Cambodia, and what God has been doing in our lives, and how God simply knitted Cambodia with my heart and my family’s future.  The trip to Cambodia last January acted like a catalyst and affirmation from the Lord that He wants us to GIVE IT ALL in obedience when He calls and desires.

 

I was given an opportunity to share about Cambodia and Ratanak in March 2010 at Pastor Nelson’s church in Rhode Island on a Sunday service .  He invited me to simply share my heart and encourage the congregation.  I prayed for His message, and He gave me Isaiah 58.  Ever since then this entire passage has been acted as His affirmation to us saying, “Yes Lord.  This is the true fasting You desire from us:

“to loose the chains of injustice and untie the cords of the yoke,

to set the oppressed free and break every yoke?

Is it not to share your food with the hungry

and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter

when you see the naked, to clothe them

and not to turn away from your flesh and blood?

Then your light will break forth like the dawn,

and your righteousness will go before you.

and the glory of the Lord will be your rear guard.

Then you will call, the Lord will answer;

you will cry for help, and he will say: Here am I.”

Paul and I will be officially taking up the role starting in August as Lisa Cheong, the present Toronto Rep, is preparing to leave for Cambodia to act as the Country Director of Ratanak.

I covet your prayers in strength, discernment, time management, our marriage and family life, Heather and Lilias’ spiritual and physical needs, and most of all, our relationship with the Lord and that we utterly lean on Him, and have fellowship with Him through prayers and meditating on His words, and believe that this is His ministry and His calling.

I once again find myself convinced that when I watch my own character soaked in His grace, carrying my habits and my voice drenched in His desires, every action of yours will ring out as your calling in life.  We are living out every single day with that calling as the follower of Jesus, as the mouthpiece for those who cannot speak for themselves in Cambodia, as a partner and a supporter in this ministry to my husband, Paul, as a leader and role model for our children, Heather and Lilias, and simply as a child of God and the daughter of the King.

Father God, may You be glorified, worshipped and adored forever ever and ever!

Leave a Reply

