… when you see a child walks free, it makes you dream of jubilee …

It has been weeks now, my mind has been sifting through details of horrors I have been weeping over and of triumphs for which I have been celebrating. My mind is sifting through materials in what to withhold, what to bring forth, what to lay it out in the open, what to deliver subtlely by way of a few powerpoint slides and a couple of 10 minutes documentary. How am I going to compress such a global issue into less than 30 minutes of presentation? Yet the Lord sweeps all of the concerns away but simply tell me this,

“It’s God who arms me with strength and keeps my way secure. He makes my feet like the feet of a deer; he causes me to stand on the heights. He trains my hands for battle; my arms can bend a bow of bronze. You make your saving help my shield, and your right hand sustains me; your help has made me great. You provide a broad path for my feet, so that my ankles do not give way.”

I know the weekend dawns in Cambodia brings forth another tour bus of sex tourists to this poverty-seeped nation. I am seeing a child being snatched away. It is moments like that I have no other choice but to have my knees on the ground with prayers on my lips for P, for S, for SV, for that little girl in the book I just re-read again. I can feel the weigh on my shoulder, I can feel my breathing speed up a little bit faster. Not because I am nervous for the presentation tomorrow night, but more so of each of the girls that I will be bringing forth tomorrow. Their faces, however their eyes are blocked before the audiences, would look out to the crowd, their eyes will never be blocked before mine, assuringly their eyes have never ever been blocked before our God’s. There is a responsibility to bring forth their stories, not to guilt people, or drive emotions out of them, but to encourage and to challenge all of us to seek justice at this side of the pond. As for now, I will keep my eyes on the prize … and Hold On!! Father God, thank you for giving me this prize to fix our eyes on, or else where shall I go? whom shall I run to? If I am not running to you. Father God, thank you for choosing me before I could choose you. Father God, thank you for reminding me of who I am and whose I am so that my life to reflect You always. Keep me focused on Your time, Your ways, Your wisdom, Yourself, so that I don’t follow the foolish devices of men or my own selfishness. Thank You, Father God!!

Paul and Silas, bound in jail,
Got no money for the good they bail,
Keep your eyes on the prize, hold on.

Paul and Silas thought they lost,
The dungeon shook and the chains fell off,
Keep your eyes on the prize, hold on.

Freedom’s name is mighty sweet,
and one day soon we are gonna meet.
Keep your eyes on the prize, hold on.

Got my hand on the gospel plow,
Won’t take nothing for the journey now.
Keep your eyes on the prize, hold on.

The wait is slow,
And we’ve so far to go.
Keep your eyes on the prize,
Hold on.

The only chain a man can stand
is that chain of hand in hand,
Keep your eyes on the prize, hold on.

Ain’t no man on earth control
The weight of glory on a human soul.
Keep your eyes on the prize, hold on.

When you see a man walk free,
It makes you dream of jubilee.

When you see a child walk free,
It makes you dream of jubliee.

When you see a family free,
It makes you dream of jubilee.

Keep your eyes on the prize, hold on.

Leave a Reply

