… I put no trust in my bow …

I thank my Father Lord for surrounding me with great giants of faith whom I could learn from and pray with and seek counsel.  A dearest friend who has been walking with me on this journey has been very encouraging and she would every now and then send me a line here and a line there to encourage me, to pray with me in late hour.  While I was spending a few days at the Overseas Missions Fellowship retreat, this very same theme also surfaced, too.  Who says waiting time is wasting time?  She wrote,

Who says bringing about the change in Cambodia is going to be easy or quick??  There are no shortcuts. Adam & Eve took the first shortcut. Abraham took a shortcut to get to the child of promise. Jacob took a shortcut to get Isaac’s blessing. Joseph’s brothers took a shortcut to get rid of him. King Saul took many shortcuts. King David took a shortcut to get Bathsheba. All ended BADLY. Jesus being tempted in the wilderness was offered shortcuts by Satan. Instead, He chose the long road to Calvary. Process is just as important as results. We can grow weary, for the wait is slow, and we’ll be tempted to take shortcuts – to trust ourselves and our agenda and our timing rather than the Lord.

Our battle, we know it, is never against flesh and blood but always against the powers and principalities, and our divine weapon is prayer which has the power to demolish spiritual strongholds.  The devil’s hope is to discourage us.  Jesus calls us to perseverance and faith.  When the Son of Man returns, will He find faith upon the earth?  How easy to have fair-weather faith – to have faith when things are going smoothly.  Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, though prodigals go astray and rescued girls return to their dysfunctional evil families, YET I WILL REJOICE IN THE LORD, I WILL BE JOYFUL IN GOD MY SAVIOUR. 

While there is breath in our lungs,

while there is life in our bodies,

while there is a spark of activity in our brains,

We rejoice in You, Lord Jesus. 

We are joyful, JOYFUL, joyful in You, our Savour. 

And we will never stop praying in Your glorious name.  Amen.   

Restore us, oh Lord, make Your face shine upon us. You are my King, and my God, who decrees victories for Jacob.  Through You we push back our enemies, through Your name we trample our foes.  I put no trust in my bow, my sword does not bring me victory, but You give us victory over our enemies, You put our adversaries to shame.  In God we make our boast all day long, and we will praise Your name forever.  In the powerful name of Jesus, I pray.  AMEN!!!

Leave a Reply

