… my prayer for you, little one …

I am not my family tree
These are different leaves, you know
There are miles and miles between
My roots and what I’m trying to grow

I am not the slave they sold
Nor am I royalty
I’ve worn them both, the finest coat
And rags that barely cover me

But there’s mercy in the soil, mercy in the sun
Learning to forgive, what cannot be undone
And what was meant to harm can’t harm you in the end
Stepped out on a limb I thought might break
But Love said, it will only bend; it will only bend.

I am not my past mistakes
Labelled by some place and time
Nor am I a trophy case
Trying to maintain my shine

I have dreamed a thousand dreams
Watched a grain in famine, grow
I am not my family tree
I have branches of my own

But there’s mercy in the soil, mercy in the sun
Learning to forgive, what cannot be undone
And what was meant to harm can’t harm you in the end
Stepped out on a limb I thought might break
But Love said, it will only bend

Oh, does fate resign us to
Find shelter for our wounds
Beneath the battered roof of broken dreams?
Oh, but I will choose to stand
In the shadow of Your hand
And see what grows when Grace has sown the seed

These are different leaves, you know

But there’s mercy in the soil, mercy in the sun
Learning to forgive, what cannot be undone
And what was meant to harm can’t harm you in the end
Stepped out on a limb I thought might break
But Love said, it will only bend; it will only bend.
It will only bend, ooh-oh
It will only bend.

What was meant to harm you can’t harm you in the end!!  Your past was beyond repair, if there was any good thing there to salvage I knew not how. But God showed me you had your future, and it was vast, unbroken, pristine, radiant. It was pure promise: a Glory that would be revealed in you, a Glory that outweighed your present troubles, the Glory of the One who was coming to redeem you and transform you. Your past was a tragedy to lament, but your future was an epic to anticipate which is simply to say: What will happen matters more than what has happened.  What was meant to harm you CAN’T HARM YOU IN THE END”

Father Lord, I come as bold, as direct as I could ever be to you, Be her fortress, Be her strong tower, Be her shield, Be her shelter, Be her Defender, be her Voice, be her Stand, Lord God!!!  You hear me?  Answer me??  Pay attention to me???  Pay attention to her cry, not my cry!!!  I am shaking your arms, shaking your hands, shaking my heart to plead before you, Lord, show Your presence, make it known to her, make it tangible for her. My faith in You, Lord, finds comfort in Your power, in Your goodness, in Your purpose!!  Where else shall I find comfort in Yours, in You, in Your presence, in Your Kingdom, in Your people, in Your nation, in Your hands, on Your Cross, in Your blood, in Your mercy, in Your grace, in Your peace, in Your whisper, in Genesis 1, in Revelation 22, in Yours “Yes, I am coming soon.”  Come, Lord Jesus.  Shine Your light into her life, like “there will be no more night, (she) will not need the light of a lamp or the light of the sun, for the Lord God will give (her) light. For You are the River of Life, and the leaves of the tree are for the healing of the nations, for the healing of one, for the healing of this one little one!!  I pray all these in Your Son’s name.  Amen!!”

Leave a Reply

