… running …

How my faith journey will never be a lone road of learning how to walk in holiness, learning how to be more Christ-like.  How this faith journey is never meant for only me, my church community, my children and spouse’s spiritual growth.  It has become evident that it is in fact requires my head and heart looking outward, requires my heart beating along His heart for the hurting, for those whom He called us to serve and to love.  A song being written out for worship is never meant to be individually savored and moved and stirred.  It has the component to galvanize us into action of praying for and to be in pain with and to suffer with those whom He shows us.

As this song starts to crawl into my heart’s chamber as I learn the melody with the quivering lips, it is a song that I long for those whom we are praying for to have these words to sing and to cling onto, to depend upon as they walk unfortunately into the wrong direction or being stripped of any other choices.  It reflects exactly what Lisa recently posted about her time spending with her spiritual daughters.

These 3 young women fuel my faith in Christ, they represent what is possible when we trust the Lord and the hope that can be restored in broken lives and be released in their lives and my life.Their journeys have not been easy but one of them in particular was a recent prodigal for reasons I can’t share here. Yet, she is on a journey of hope again. When I met up with her recently, I felt like the the Father in the story of the prodigal son.

There she was—a skinny little girl (she had lost a lot of weight since I last saw her, but then again young women here are so skinny, it’s all relative) calling my name ”Bong Lisa” and running into my hands, tears in her eyes and tears in my eyes as she held on for what seemed like the longest hug.

No wonder the father in the prodigal son story had a celebration and asked his servants to bring the best calf to be cooked to celebrate the son’s return. I understand those emotions better now for we can’t help but celebrate a life that was once lost but is now found. It is times like this I appreciate the language lessons I have had to be able to share with her how we loved her,  had prayed for her, how we had missed her and were so happy to see that she is now safe again. She is still on a journey of hope  but we are walking with her as she desires to take responsible steps towards a new life of hope. Through her journey, I get to ”taste and see” that the Lord is good, the Gospel comes alive, the words of scripture that I read and reflect on, become reality in this setting. What a privilege the Lord gives us to see the truths He speaks about laid out before our eyes!

How this song spills out exactly as they walk towards their road of recovery, sometimes wobbly, sometimes missing a step or two, sometimes backslide into a sinking spiral, yet the Lord remains unchanged.  When death is closing in, yet colliding the One who is life, death simply cowered and lost  its sting.  How she ran into Lisa’s arms, in fact those are not the only arms that are opened and waiting for her to fall upon, but His arms that flaunt to the enemy that His light will forever reign despite darkness is everywhere and inching in like an ambush with bullet-loaded gunfire.

FR

May this song one day be on their lips.  Truly in His presence, they will be made whole, singing out of deep conviction, proclaiming out of seasoned trials, blasting out of glorious victory, that

He is Good

He is Love

He is Light

He is Hope

He is Peace

He is True

He is Joy

He is Life

He is More

He is LORD

He is Here

He is God

He is Jesus

You are good, You are good
When there’s nothing good in me

You are love, You are love
On display for all to see

You are light, You are light
When the darkness closes in

You are hope, You are hope
You have covered all my sin

You are peace, You are peace
When my fear is crippling

You are true, You are true
Even in my wandering

You are joy, You are joy
You’re the reason that I sing

You are life, You are life,
In You, death has lost its sting

Oh, I’m running to Your arms,
I’m running to Your arms
The riches of Your love
Will always be enough
Nothing compares to Your embrace
Light of the world Forever Reign

You are more, You are more
Than my words will ever say

You are Lord, You are Lord
All creation will proclaim

You are here, You are here
In Your presence I’m made whole

You are God, You are God
Of all else I’m letting go

{My heart will sing}

{No Other Name}

{Jesus, Jesus}

Leave a Reply

