… still, always, ever…

Yet you, God, are sovereign still,
always and ever sovereign.

Psalm 102 spells out the prayer for the distress, for the weary, for the brokenhearted, for the afflicted.

In the beginning you laid the foundations of the earth,
and the heavens are the work of your hands.
 They will perish, but you remain;
they will all wear out like a garment.
Like clothing you will change them
and they will be discarded.
 But you remain the same,
and your years will never end.

As I read up on the news about Syria and Cambodia and followed on every turn of news and decisions, every bomb and protest, every fleeing refugee and malnourished child, every family trying to build their lives in hot tent and muddy camp, I know my part is to pray.  Not to pray out of mere sorrow and helplessness, but with confidence knowing in the midst of suffering, Yet You God Are Sovereign Still, Always and Ever Sovereign. 

Still.  Always. Ever. 

What a promise for me to grasp onto as I slide down to the dangling rope thinking of all the suffering in the world.

keep-calm

After two months of laying low and now facing the months of events and “meet&greet”, rallying people to raising funds, hauling our stacks of material with our stacks of God’s stories for Cambodia, I am preparing myself to get ready for a meeting tomorrow as a starter.  To unveil something far more than a leap of faith committing to a new church community, but to allow complete strangers to peek inside what the Lord has done and is capable to do even with suffering suffocating every creature on earth especially on people whom we know, we know them by name, we weep alongside them.

A week from now, we will be in full throttle mingling with the crowd whose hearts would probably be bruised to blackish purple and feeling anguish to do whatever it takes to be a part of the solution.  How many of them would understand sometimes the solution is as basic as making one small change in their lives, in their choosing, in their small decision making to live life simpler so others can simply live.

As I watched this trailer over and over to anticipate for the audience who come out of the screening, something deeply raw is moving underneath me that I know I need the Sovereign Lord’s help to sustain and compose me.  For this is who He is.  He is sovereign, sovereign still, always sovereign, ever sovereign.  For He is the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End.  His sovereignty always leave me aghast, constantly send my pounding fist on the table.  Frustrated.  Answer-less.  Buckwashed.  Yet it all comes back to me acknowledging His Sovereignty rules over all, reigns through generations, establishes His power and dominion in things seen and unseen, defeating the kingdom of darkness, increasing His Kingdom wherever His name be known and glorified.

Sovereign in the mountain air
Sovereign on the ocean floor
With me in the calm, with me in the storm

Sovereign in my greatest joy
Sovereign in my deepest cry
With me in the dark, with me at the dawn

In Your everlasting arms,
All the pieces of my life
From beginning to the end I can trust You
In Your never failing love
You work everything for good
God whatever comes my way I will trust You

All my hopes, all I need,
held in Your hands
All my life, all of me,
held in Your hands
All my fears, all my dreams,
held in Your hands

Psalm 102:18-22

Let this be written for a future generation,
    that a people not yet created may praise the Lord:
“The Lord looked down from his sanctuary on high,
 from heaven he viewed the earth,
to hear the groans of the prisoners
    and release those condemned to death.”
So the name of the Lord will be declared in Zion
and his praise in Jerusalem

WHEN THE PEOPLES AND THE KINGDOMS

ASSEMBLE TO WORSHIP THE LORD.

Leave a Reply

