… because I love her, too. …

I was sitting in the living room listening intently to her recalling what had happened in her life that demanded this question, “Why would You let this happen? Why?”  She was livid and hurt  and flaunting her anger and demanding an answer.   A voice came, a steady one bringing out these few words.  Not in a hurry but with an unshakable authority.  As a matter of facted-ly, the Voice uttered,

“Because I love her, too.”

love

She looked around her and walked to the end of the driveway, there was not a single living human being in sight.  Where did that voice come from?

She heard Him.  She heard His voice clearly.  The Voice stated clearly the answer she demanded.  The Voice has made a statement, not a suggestion.  The Voice simply stated the reality with one simple fact, “because I love her, too.”  The Voice did not invite her for a debate.  The Voice simply said what it is.

I gasped in response to what I had just heard.  Praises rising up in my guts every time the Lord speaks to me, He speaks to people who are struggling in daily and ordinary struggles that begs for His mercy, that opens our eyes to see His perspective when we calculate our surroundings, however hurtful and unjust, He sees traffickers and pimps the same way He sees the victim being perpetrated.

My heart stumped on the floor like a flop.  How can I even reconcile this very statement when little S tackles every single assault with the same question, “Why did You allow such thing happen to me?  Why would You let this happen?”

How in the world that His answer would be “Because I love him, too.”  I cannot reconcile that.  Yet it’s not up to us to understand.  It’s not up to us to rage it against His sovereignty and demand a just and “please convince me” answer!  In His complete and perfect faithfulness, His work of redemption we could never fathom and grasp.  We could only grasp the tiny slice of His redeeming love for those who are willing to come to the banquet table and receive His forgiveness and blessings.  Little S and one who are selling her and those who are abusing her  – they all could come to the table if only they are willing to turn away from sin and be healed.

Lord, if what You brought me here is to hammer this in my brain cell to understand and know You more, I rest my case, however livid it is, in You.  I rest my restless heart, however broken it is, in You.  As I reflect on all these, He has four rhetorical questions to answer my many livid ones, too.

“Do you not know?”

“Have you not heard?”

“Has it not been told you from the beginning?”

“Have you not understood since the earth was founded?”

That’s He, our Creator of the Universe.

Isaiah 40: 22-26
22 He sits enthroned above the circle of the earth,
and its people are like grasshoppers.
He stretches out the heavens like a canopy,
and spreads them out like a tent to live in.
23 He brings princes to naught
and reduces the rulers of this world to nothing.
24 No sooner are they planted,
no sooner are they sown,
no sooner do they take root in the ground,
than he blows on them and they wither,
and a whirlwind sweeps them away like chaff.

25 “To whom will you compare me?
Or who is my equal?” says the Holy One.
26 Lift up your eyes and look to the heavens:
Who created all these?
He who brings out the starry host one by one
and calls forth each of them by name.
Because of his great power and mighty strength,
not one of them is missing.”

 I trust You because of Your great power and mighty strength, not one of them is missing.  Little S is safe in Your arms.  Little S knows you intimately.  Little S knows You know how painful the suffering is for You suffer immensely for her as well.  Come, Lord Jesus, make it quick, come soon, make it sooner!!

… May I never lose your wonder … oh the wonder of your mercy …

… May I sing your hallelujah … Hallelujah Amen …

Leave a Reply

