… second kings six …

Who, O Lord, could save themselves, their own soul could heal?

Our shame was deeper than the sea.

Your grace is deeper still.

You alone can rescue.

You alone can save.

You alone can lift us from the grave.

You came down to find us, led us out of death.

To You Alone belongs the highest praise!

O God, You are all that You say You are. You never change, You never fail, You never fade. Our God, You are faitfhful in all Your ways. Forever You stand. Forever You reign. Forever remain.

alone

Last night we prayed with words barely uttered through questions mingling with curtains of overwhelming certainty that “Those who are with us are more than those who are with them”. My mind was filled with an epical hills full of horses and chariots of fire all around.

Your Words engulfed me with 2 Kings 6:8-23. Early in the morning, Elisha’s servant arose and went out of the house. With the early morning sun struck the surrounding hills, he saw shields and swords of the Syrian soldiers, all positioned. Frantic, frightened, fleed back to Elisha and reported what he had seen. What could he do? Elisha went, “Don’t be afraid.” There was no reason to panic. Elisha knew that his servant did not “see” the whole picture. He saw only flesh and blood of a vast army. He had no grasp of the spiritual forces that were at work. He assured that those who were on their side outnumbered the great host of the Syrian army. Elisha prayed that the servant’s eyes might be opened to see the angelic army that was not normally visible.

“Open His eyes, Lord, so that he may see.” (v.17)

His were opened.

He saw.

He saw the angelic warriors were surrounding Elisha.

The calmness and the tranquility that are not visible to our eyes, our hearts shall always sees the spiritual forces which God has at His disposal to protect His own children. Elisha responded with the calm of a man who knows that he is secure, under the watchful care of God. It was not the angelic army that brought deliverance to Elisha or to Israel –

it was the answered prayers.

Elisha prayed and the eyes of his servant were opened (v.17). His fears were relieved.

Elisha prayed again, and the eyes of his enemies were closed (v.18).

It was not the angelic intervention, but divine intervention through prayer which brought about the deliverance we see in this text. It also brought about the cessation of hostilities between Syrian and Israel at least for a time over a meal together.

That’s what we did last night. We prayed. For we trust that the divine intervention is far greater than the looming shadow of evil’s steps. The divine intervention will outnumber all the spiritual attack that is now surrounding people who are hurting around us, near and far.

For we trust that when we ask God to open our eyes and let us see,

He will let us see.

He will let you see.

He just did.

He let me see this ::

It took Him two years to let me see His work and how He never waste a prayer, a simple prayer written out of a hasty situation with an urgency to pray for one.  He lets me see that no nothing is wasted in His Kingdom if You let Him use it.  He  takes His time to reveal this to me despite the time He has me waiting and wondering, and stopped waiting and wondering.  I simply let it sit and lay it still.  Yet out of an unexpected setting, He seizes a hidden moment fit to reveal.

I walked into a room full of people I don’t know, my eyes found two whom I barely know, I extended my hands and my hugs to greet.  What I was about to hear was like a sluice containing the water before the fall.  I stood there frozen trying to grabble some intelligent words but failed immensely.  She shared with me with a specific date and an occasion, and she asked me whether I remember that.  I nodded with my arms enveloping all my shaking nerves.  All I could hear was one sweet voice amplified above her voice.  In a dense and darkened room, the Lord’s gentle whisper amplified in my heart,

“I do not WASTE any tears and sorrow, I would use them like a chiselled piece belongs to a grand piece of mosaic. My blessings flood, encourage, edify and lift high for what is in your heart crying out to me, Your King, flood, encourage, edify and lift high of My Name, the sweet name, the one name above all names.”

The Lord, then, lift up my eyes to see His horses and chariots of fire upon the hill, protecting and fighting for me and for you.

Lift up our eyes

Lift up our eyes

You are the Giver of Life.

Leave a Reply

