… why didn’t you?! …

good-samaritan-cartoon

“I really believe that when we come together, it is not a spectator sport. I really think we’re supposed to roll up our sleeves and get in the game!” – Brenda Salter McNeil

At the eve of year 2014, I sat here listening to Brenda’s powerful challenge, and I found stomach twisted in a dull pain.  She challenged us in three simple calls for action,

ONE. Examine your theology for your theology will impact your anthropology.  What you believe about God will impact what you believe about people.

TWO. Compassion is not the soft warm fuzzy thing, compassion is  something gut-wrenching, that it so grabs you, that it doubles you over, you can’t help yourself.  (and I know what is that that doubles me over!) What is that getting to the core of your gut, when you hear it, when you read about it, it doubles you over.  What is causing you to double over?  You simply have to stick your neck out despite others would disagree with you.  But you know you are doing justice.

THREE.  Please start picking up the trash.  Yes, You can’t do everything, but you can do something!  You can do something NOW!

“Sometimes I would like to ask God why He allows poverty, suffering and injustice when He could do something about it?”

“Well, why don’t you ask Him?”

“Because I am afraid He would ask me the same question.”  – Anonymous

You stand for freedom freedom
You stand for justice in this world
So many stolen, stolen
Slaves to the shadows of this earth

But these are Your sons and daughters, God
And though the darkness seems so strong
Your fire of justice breaks the night
We hear You cry

Let my people go, let my people go 
Light a fire in the dark
A fire in the dark
Let my people go

So we’ll stand for freedom, freedom
We’ll stand for justice in this world
All of the stolen, stolen
Never forgotten in Tour heart

These are Your sons and daughters, God
And though the darkness seems so strong
Your fire of justice breaks the night
We’re ready to fight

Another stolen life another hidden cry
But these are Your sons and daughters God
Trafficked in the night broken by the fight
Rescue Your sons and daughters, God

One response to “… why didn’t you?! …

  1. Oh Jessy, this resounds in my soul too! This past year, I have been brought time and time again back to the essential and central place of theology in my life – for my actions, my beliefs, my mindset, my attitude. I am so challenged for 2014 to be more intentional in this area, that whatever is set upon my heart, whatever I am “doubled over” for, I act, but only act in abiding with Him,

    blessings on you! Hugs.

Leave a Reply

