… Lord, I believe, help my unbelief …

I put all my hope on the truth of Your promise
and I steady my heart on the ground of Your goodness
When I’m bowed down with sorrow I will lift up Your name
and the foxes in the vineyard will not steal my joy

Because You are good to me, good to me
You are good to me, good to me
You are good to me

I lift my eyes to the hills where my help is found
Your voice fills the night raise my head up to hear the sound
Though fires burn all around me I will praise You, my God
and the foxes in the vineyard will not steal my joy

Your goodness and mercy shall follow me
all my life
I will trust in Your promise

*Thomas begins with doubt ::

 The sea is too deep

The heaven is too high

I cannot swim

I cannot fly;

I must stay here

I must stay here

Here where I know

How I can know

Here where I know

What I can know.

Jesus then reappears and invites Thomas to see and touch.  Suddenly the new, giddying possibility appears before him ::

The sea has parted.  Pharaoh’s  hosts –

Despair, and doubt, and fear, and pride —

No longer frightens us.  We must

Cross over to the other side.

The heaven bows down. With wounded hands

Our exiled God, our Lord of shame

Before us, living, breathing, stands;

THE WORD IS NEAR AND CALLS OUR NAME.

New knowing for the doubting mind,

New seeing out of blindness grows;

New trusting may the sceptic find

New hope through that which faith now knows.

*Surprised by Hope. N.T. Wright, p, 70

kite

“Then the nations around you that remain will know that I the Lord have rebuilt what was destroyed and have replanted what was desolate. I the Lord have spoken, and I will do it.’” – Ezekial 36:36

He asked me, “Son of man, can these bones live?”  – Ezekial 37:3a

I said, “Sovereign Lord, You alone know.” – Ezekial 37:3b

“I will put my Spirit in you and you will live, and I will settle you in your own land. Then you will know that I the Lord have spoken, and I have done it.” – Ezekial 37:14

* * *

Your Words have promised that You will do it and You have already done it.  Between these two brackets, I lay Cambodia in the epic center of Your solid rock promises.

When I am bowed down with sorrow for her, I will praise You my God.

As I lay weeping in wee hour for her, Your voice fills the night.

As I mumble my prayers in intercession, I would raise my head up to hear Your sound.

As my eyes are bittered with the straining tears, You tell me that You are near and much closer than I could see.

As You are not far from anyone of us.

I am far, very far, but you are never far from Cambodia.

I pray for this in Your Son’s precious name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

